Skip Navigation
Leadership Team
Cancer center leaders Roy Jensen and Terry Tsue.

Leadership Team

The University of Kansas Cancer Center is one of the nation’s leading cancer centers and the region’s only National Cancer Institute-designated comprehensive cancer center. We are part of a nationwide network of 53 elite comprehensive cancer research centers whose sole focus is to advance cancer patient care, research and treatment.

Cancer center director Roy Jensen.
Roy Jensen, MD

Roy Jensen, MD

Vice Chancellor and Director, The University of Kansas Cancer Center
Director, Kansas Masonic Cancer Research Institute
William R. Jewell Distinguished Kansas Masonic Professor
Professor of pathology and laboratory medicine, anatomy and cell biology, cancer biology and molecular biosciences

Roy Jensen, MD, was named director of The University of Kansas Cancer Center in 2004. Since that time, he has recruited a world-class leadership team. With his guidance, and a broad-based university, community and regional effort, The University of Kansas Cancer Center achieved National Cancer Institute designation in July 2012. The cancer center is currently 1 of 53 NCI-designated comprehensive cancer centers across the country. 

Dr. Jensen graduated from Vanderbilt University School of Medicine in 1984 and remained there to complete a residency in anatomic pathology and a surgical pathology fellowship with David Page, MD. Following his clinical training, he accepted a postdoctoral fellowship at the NCI in the laboratory of internationally recognized cancer biologist Stuart Aaronson, MD.

After joining the faculty at Vanderbilt University, Dr. Jensen’s research focused on understanding the function of BRCA1 and BRCA2 and their role in breast and ovarian uncontrolled and abnormal cell growth. Genetic mutations of these genes are believed to be responsible for about half of all inherited breast cancer cases. His laboratory was instrumental in demonstrating the role of BRCA1 in the growth control of normal and malignant cells and in how loss of functional BRCA1 contributes to the development of breast cancer. He currently has more than 150 scientific publications and has lectured widely on the clinical and molecular aspects of breast cancer pathology.

Dr. Jensen is past-president of the Association of American Cancer Institutes and a member of several scientific and professional societies, including the American Association for Cancer Research, the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the American Society for Cell Biology, the American Society for Investigative Pathology and the United States and Canadian Academy of Pathology.

Dr. Terry Tsue.
Terry Tsue, MD, FACS

Terry Tsue, MD, FACS

Terry Tsue, MD, FACS
Vice President of Physician Services, The University of Kansas Health System
Vice President and Physician in Chief, The University of Kansas Cancer Center
Douglas A. Girod, MD, Endowed Professor of Head and Neck Surgical Oncology
Department of Otolaryngology - Head and Neck Surgery
University of Kansas School of Medicine

Terry Tsue, MD, FACS, combines his expertise as professor, surgeon and researcher to provide clinical oversight at The University of Kansas Cancer Center as physician in chief. He is nationally recognized for his expertise in microvascular reconstructive surgery for head and neck cancers and, specifically, microvascular reconstruction of the jaw.

Dr. Tsue’s clinical focus is on tumors of the mouth, throat, voice box, neck and thyroid glands. Part of his focus concentrates on the latest techniques for the preservation of tissues and function, including conservation laryngeal surgery and the endoscopic removal of head and neck cancers using laser and robotic techniques. He also works closely with a multidisciplinary team to manage tumors of the skull base, including the endoscopic removal of tumors and combined procedures involving neurosurgical approaches.

His writings on reconstructive microvascular surgery techniques and numerous ENT topics have been included in more than 90 publications and abstracts. He is often a featured presenter internationally at head and neck cancer symposia. Since 2005, Dr. Tsue has been included in Best Doctors, a renowned electronic database and consulting service made up of the best 5% of physicians worldwide.

Dr. Tsue is a graduate of Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine and completed his residency at the University of Washington in Seattle. He has served on the faculty of the University of Kansas School of Medicine since 1996, becoming the Douglas A. Girod, MD, Endowed Professor of Head and Neck Surgical Oncology and vice chairman, Department of Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery in 2008. In 2012, he was appointed physician in chief of The University of Kansas Cancer Center, part of the University of Kansas Medical Center.

Andrew Godwin

Andrew Godwin, PhD

Deputy Director
Cancer center leader Shrikant Anant.

Shrikant Anant, PhD

Associate Director, Basic Science
Cancer center leader Christie Befort.

Christie Befort, PhD

Associate Director, Cancer Prevention and Control
Dr. Ronald Chen

Ronald Chen, MD, MPH

Associate Director, Health Equity
Joe and Jean Brandmeyer Chair, Department of Radiation Oncology
Cancer center leader Teresa Christensen.

Teresa Christenson

Associate Vice Chancellor and Associate Director for Administration
Cancer center leader Jeffrey Holzbeierlein.

Jeffrey Holzbeierlein, MD

John W. Weigel Endowed Professor of Urology
Cancer center leader Matthew Mayo.

Matthew Mayo, PhD, MBA

Associate Director, Shared Resources
Cancer center leader Joseph McGuirk.

Joseph McGuirk, DO

Division Director, Hematologic Malignancies and Cellular Therapeutics
Medical Director, Blood and Marrow Transplant
Professor of Medicine, Schutte-Speas Professor of Hematology-Oncology
Cancer center leader Lisa Shnayder.

Lisa Shnayder, MD

Division Chief, Head and Neck Surgery
Cancer center leader Christian Sinclair.

Christian Sinclair, MD

Chair, Palliative Medicine
Cancer center leader Weijing Sun.

Weijing Sun, MD, FACP

Associate Director, Clinical Research 
The Sprint Professorship of Medical Oncology
Director, Division of Medical Oncology

Cancer center leader Jamie Wagner.

Jamie Wagner, DO

The Women’s Cancer Center
Chief, Division of Breast Surgical Oncology
Cancer center leader Scott Weir.

Scott Weir, PharmD, PhD

Associate Director, Translational Research Drug Discovery
Director, Institute for Advancing Medical Innovation
Kelly Family Foundation IAMI Professor in Cancer Drug Discovery and Development
Cancer center leader Danny Welch.

Danny Welch, PhD

Associate Director, Education
Cancer center leader Jeff Wright.

Jeff Wright

Vice President, Cancer Services

Related links