Skip Navigation

Andrew Godwin Named Recipient of Higuchi Biomedical Sciences Award

December 06, 2019

Andrew Godwin, PhD, deputy director of The University of Kansas Cancer Center and professor and director of Molecular Oncology in the department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine at the University of Kansas Medical Center, has been awarded a Higuchi-KU Endowment Research Achievement Award in biomedical sciences, the state higher education system’s most prestigious recognition for scholarly excellence. The Dolph Simons Award in Biomedical Sciences is given to individuals who have made a major impact in the field.

A leader in the area of translational research and precision cancer medicine, Dr. Godwin is internationally recognized for his molecular biology/genetic studies of sarcoma, breast and ovarian cancer, and his efforts to help bridge the gap between basic and clinical science to improve patient care. He has dedicated his scientific career to understanding the causes of and potential cures for cancer. In 2019, he received a National Institute of General Medical Sciences grant to establish a precision medicine-focused Center for Biomedical Research Excellence (COBRE).

Dr. Godwin has been consistently funded by the National Cancer Institute and other cancer-focused organizations over his career. He is a highly published scientist, with his research resulting in over 450 manuscripts and scholarly review articles and more than 41,000 citations. His research focuses on both basic and translational research, with an emphasis on early detection of cancer, predictive and prognostic biomarkers, liquid biopsies based on extracellular vesicles, molecular therapeutics, companion diagnostics, clinical trials and biobanking. A native of Lawrence, Dr. Godwin graduated with highest distinction from KU with a bachelor’s degree in cellular biology. He obtained a doctorate in molecular biology from the University of Pennsylvania while carrying out his thesis research at Fox Chase Cancer Center in Philadelphia. After 26 years at Fox Chase, he joined KU Medical Center in 2010.

The annual awards are given in four categories of scholarly and creative achievement. This year’s honorees also include:

  • Perry Alexander, professor in the Department of Electrical Engineering & Computer Science, University of Kansas, recipient of the Irvin E. Youngberg Award in Applied Sciences
  • James Edgar, professor in the Department of Chemical Engineering, Kansas State University, recipient of the Olin K. Petefish Award in Basic Sciences
  • Donald Haider-Markel, professor in the Department of Political Science, University of Kansas, recipient of the Balfour Jeffrey Award for Humanities & Social Sciences

The four will be recognized at an April 22, 2020, ceremony featuring remarks from Chancellor Douglas A. Girod. This is the 38th annual presentation of the Higuchi awards, established in 1981 by Takeru Higuchi, a distinguished professor at the University of Kansas from 1967 to 1983, and his wife, Aya. The awards recognize the exceptional long-term research accomplishments of faculty at Kansas Board of Regents universities. Each award includes a citation and $10,000 for ongoing research efforts.

Explore more news, events and blog